Keep It Simple

Paleo eating should take you back to basics (as basic as modern humans can get, of course). It’s a very refreshing way to simplify, at least, a portion of your life. Salt and pepper, garlic, butter or coconut oil, start there to season your protein. Chop and roast your veggies. Mash a sweet potato. Salad, salad, salad. Eggs and bacon. It doesn’t have to be more complicated. Broth is easy to make (crock pot, carcass, cover in water) and therefore soup is too – the combinations are endless and fun to try!

At 5'4", I went from 160 to 128 after switching to a Paleo lifestyle. The benefits are ongoing and include lack of headaches, increased energy, better sleep patterns, shorter menstrual cycles, lack of body odor, cleaner hair, stronger nails...

Food has become so much a reward (and for what?) that we have trained ourselves to expect variety at every snack and meal. And why shouldn’t we? Each new commercial brings us a ‘delicious’ new treat (consider it a dare to find one that isn’t made of grain). They’re all so fantastic! Give me more… it’s an endless cycle and I feel like I’m being taken for a ride, like I’ve lost control of what I want. All the ‘must have’s and ‘latest’, ‘newest’, ‘yummiest’. I’m continually left overstimulated and unsatisfied. With Paleo, I have regained control.

I’m not a chef, nor do I pretend to be one, so I will (again) link you to other sites that have a great variety of recipes and updates on their food choices. Also sites that I enjoy myself, so I know you will too. It’s far too hectic a world for me to try to make things complicated in my kitchen. Instead of running off the grid with my family, like I was planning, Paleo has given me a bit of a ‘deep breath’. A moment in my life that is easy. Food choice is simple now and that sits well with me. I feel calm. Cooking has become a ritual that brings me peace.

SO, if you’re looking for some food inspiration, get clicking below. Don’t be swayed by the more foreign ingredients, it’s okay use what you have. Your cooking arsenal will grow in time. It took me 7 months to buy coconut oil.

Sarah Fragoso and her family at Everyday Paleo are a great source of information and inspiration. Her search option is super easy and she has a Food link that’s categorized by meal time or protein type. Good stuff!  Search “chicken chili”, one of my favorite soups with a bite. YUM.

Fast Paleo has a ROD (Recipe of the Day) feature and about a zillion recipes to browse.

The family friendly Paleo Parents food section is mouth-watering and a great spot to find a sweet treat. I posted about their Dark Chocolate Banana Bites a day or two ago. Just yesterday, my newly-Paleo friend, Betsy, confirmed that these bites are worth their weight in almond flour.

And lastly, the best damn food related Paleo-specific inspiration comes from Nom Nom Paleo‘s blog. One word: NOM.

Pancakes and Bacon, Coffee: Black

Also, I have 2 recipes that friends have recently shared. First, my 4 year old’s favorite: PANCAKES! (err, WAFFLES, but they pancake well) Thank you Pam, I have tried several recipes over the year and haven’t found any that my daughter will eat or that I enjoy. This one is delish with a hint of vanilla and a sweet bite, I even added ENJOY chocolate chips to my 3 year old’s pancakes. Pam makes it for her boys with a bit of almond butter on top. It looks and feels like a pancake too. Great for a snack or meal. Today we had them with bacon (line a baking sheet with foil, lay out bacon, place in oven then turn on to 350 and wait 20-30 minutes till your desired crispness. I typically pour the grease into a pan that I will then use to cook dinner.)

  • 1 cup almond flour
  • 1 pinch salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Mix together, let sit for thicker waffles, bake in waffle iron. (Again, I’m not an experienced cook, so it took me a few tries to lessen the ‘blackened’ look. I greased the pan with butter, poured a spoon full, then removed from heat for a minute, then back to heat till bubbled, flip and remove from heat again PERFECTION)

Second, we have a delicious dip, spread or as my brother suggested ‘sauce’: ROASTED EGGPLANT DIP. I had some ladies over yesterday and my friend Betsy (also mentioned above, I don’t go around collecting Betsy’s) brought this along with sweet potato chips and celery stalks.

  • Peel & slice eggplant
  • Slice red pepper
  • Slice onion
  • toss with olive oil, salt & pepper and garlic
  • Roast
  • Puree with a scoop of tomato paste
  • Serve

Remember to google “Is ____ Paleo” if you have a question. Or try “Paleo ____” for any recipe, that’s how I find a lot of mine. But also remember: KEEP IT SIMPLE. Fill yourself with clean fuel and enjoy the rest of your life. It tastes so good.

5 Comments on “Keep It Simple”

  1. Katie says:

    i wanted to make your dip but Karns didn’t have any eggplants…UGH! can’t wait for summer fresh veggies! i got some guacamole with all natural ingredients…you know the ones i recognize and can pronounce (cilantro, onions, avocados, etc)

  2. Dad says:

    Erin – You really are a talented writer. Your blog is interesting, entertaining and well-written.

  3. primal-palate.com is another all time favorite recipe site. ENJOY


Leave a Reply

