(Always) Try Something New

Grasp your opportunities, no matter how poor your health; nothing is worse for your health than boredom.  ~Mignon McLaughlin, The Second Neurotic’s Notebook, 1966

As a child, I remember moaning and groaning “I’m booooored.” Ugh. How could I have been so bored all the time? As an adult, there are always new adventures on the horizon. Life is exciting, but only because I keep it that way. This whole adventure I’ve been on with Paleo has reintroduced food as an exciting daily adventure. My fitness choices, although in spurts, also offer excitement and fulfillment in a way that has given me a new sense of pride over my body and abilities.

I have been making an effort to keep life fun, exciting and new in the simplest ways. Just a few days ago on the cusp of Independence Day, I was lucky enough to visit with old friends in Pittsburgh. It was a long drive but the time alone in the car was soothing and refreshing for me as it was my first solo road trip in 6 years! On the way home, I decided to take a detour by way of the Flight 93 Memorial in Stoystown, PA.

Image

National Memorial for Flight 93 in Stoystown, PA. Each marble slab has the name of a passenger. The slabs stand tall along the flight path of the plane as it crashed. The black wall and walkway outline the north side of the crash site.

I should mention, I was born on Independence Day and although I always found it a little cheesy to share a birthday with a National Holiday, I do feel pride in being an all-American girl born on the 4th of July. This also makes me a cancer; sensitive and emotional, which is spot on. I saw 1 sign on my way out to Pittsburgh which mentioned the Memorial and cried for the next 20 miles at the thought of the terror the passengers must have felt as they fell to the earth. Or were they at peace? Even more tears came at that thought. I decided to step outside my comfort zone and make a detour on the way home by way of the Memorial. I felt it fitting, being I am an Independence baby and the folks on that flight helped secure our independence a bit longer, at least from outside sources *wink*.

The private road leading to the crash site was nearly 4 miles long and winding. At one point it curved and inclined at such a rate it felt as if i were taking off. It was quiet and beautiful and touching. Deep in the meadows and tree clustered mountains off Rt 30 was a boulder marking the site of impact. I stared at it a long while. I shed a few tears and paid my respects to the lives of 40 men and women who had no business being forced into heroism for the entire nation, but who gave their lives so others were spared. I was happy to have such a pleasant experience in this now National Park.

Image

Through the gate of native Hemlock is a path leading to the boulder which marks the point of impact of Flight 93.

Over the next few days, I turned 32, celebrated with my loved ones and rejoiced in the life I’m leading. This morning I decided to use the last of my homemade, pastured stock (a sacred food full of amazing benefits, also a great hangover cure, just sayin’) as well as the last of my produce since thursday is my market day. Carrots, onions and kohlrabi. Kohlrabi?! Adventure on!

You must know by now my obsession with all things cabbage, after all, our Brussel Sprouts post is the most popular on the blog. Last week when I was perusing the stands at Farmers on Walnut I ended up staring at this weird-looking vegetable for a while before I asked “Could you tell me about this?” When the producer responded with “Do you like cabbage?” I almost died, “WHO DOESN’T!?” From there he explained how to slice it in rounds and sauté, or bake in some olive oil or butter and that it will taste like a sweet cabbage. YUM. This morning I sliced it up and added it to my stew. Variety is the spice of life!

Image

Onions, Kohlrabi, Carrots

Kohlrabi is almost out of season in Central PA so I’ll pick up another this afternoon and then it might be quits for now. I’m sorry I didn’t try it sooner, lesson learned: Never hesitate to ask about items at the farmer’s market. They sell what’s in season and we’re used to our standard tastes in veggies being available all year-long so it’s normal for them to receive lots of “What is this?”

Little adventures, or big, it’s all relative. Make sure your life is as special as you’d like it to be, you are, after all, in control. What small or large adventures have you had lately? What do you hope to do next? I’m starting a daily fitness program I found on Pinterest. In fact, I’m going to do my first set right now!

One Comment on “(Always) Try Something New”

  1. That looks like quite an interesting vegetable. I’ll put it on my list of new foods to seek at the Farmers’ market.

    I had a profound emotional experience a few years ago in Tokyo, Japan, at a memorial dedicated to the victims of the atomic bomb dropped on Hiroshima during WWII. The memorial was very simple, and consisted of a small, outdoor temple (more like a stand) with a lit flame encased in glass. The flame was originally collected from one of the fires set off by the bomb, and has been continuously lit since it was collected. Quite moving, especially from my perspective as an American.


Leave a Reply

